Brew Nite at Flying Saucer

October 14, 2010

Beer

So, last week the Houston Beer Week website had posted something about Wednesday’s usual Brew Nite at Flying Saucer being the Stone Brewing night, that was supposed to have an appearance by Jason Armstrong, the Texas Stone distributor, but when I checked this morning, it wasn’t there, along with a note saying that the Saucer asked them to take the event off the site. My only guess is that they didn’t want the crowd they had for the Oktoberfest stein, which was out of control big, or maybe Jason wasn’t showing up, who knows. I went anyway, because I am obsessed with beer glasses of all kinds and wanted to add a Stone glass to my collection. I was expecting the snifter, Cali-Belgique glass, but come to find out, it was a Stone pint glass and only costs a dollar plus whatever the Stone beer costs that you wanted to fill it with. Oh well, nonetheless, it was a glass I didn’t have. So since I arrived before 7 (and met Dave, a new beer geek friend) I started out with a Brooklyn Brewery Black Chocolate Stout while I waited for 7 to roll around to get my Stone glass.

The Beer:
Black Chocolate Stout
Brewed by: Brooklyn Brewery, Brooklyn, New York
ABV: 10%
Style: Russian Imperial Stout

 

Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout, Flying Saucer, Houston

 

The Taste:
I have an affinity for flavored stouts, oatmeal, chocolate, milk, whatever flavor stout. This beer definitely struck my fancy. It pours a black color with a mocha colored head and smells of roasty malts, chocolate, and even some coffee. The taste was full bodied, chocolate-y, roasty, a touch of vanilla and surprisingly drinkable for such a high ABV. Definitely want to grab a 6 pack of this before its gone.

The Beer:
Brown Shugga Ale
Brewed by: Lagunitas Brewing Co, California
ABV: 9.99%
Style: American Strong Ale

 

Lagunitas Brown Shugga Ale, Flying Saucer, Houston

 

The Taste:
This beer pours an amber color and smells very sweet with a hint of citrus. I really liked the flavor, it was true to the description of adding brown cane sugar to the yeast. It was caramel-y and sweet and a great dessert or winter/Christmas beer to drink with cookies or something. I saw that my local HEB has 6 packs so I definitely want to pick some up.

The Beer:
Cali Belgique
Brewed by: Stone Brewing Company, Escondida, California
ABV: 6.9%
Style: Belgian IPA

 

Stone Cali Belgique, Flying Saucer, Houston

 

The Taste:
This was my first taste of the Belgian IPA by Stone. Smells citrus-y, herb-y (can you just add a dash and ‘y’ to anything?) and even a little spicy (now that’s definitely a real word). The taste definitely displayed the bitter quality of IPA’s which contributed to a long lingering aftertaste, but the beer was wuite balanced with banana and citrus flavors. Glad I got to try it, even without the cool Cali Belgique specific glass.

The Beer:
New Belgium Sahti
Brewed by: New Belgium Brewing Inc/ Lips of Faith
ABV: 7.2%
Style: Sahti

 

New Belgium/ Lips of Faith Sahti, Flying Saucer, Houston

 

The Taste:
This beer pours a light copper color with minimal light head. This beer is brewed with 2 kinds of hops- Cascade and Amarillo hops, and Juniper is added into the mash along with orange and lemon peels. According to the New Belgium Website. These distinct flavors shine through in botht the smell and in the taste. It was a unique style beer that I haven’t tried yet, and I don’t think I’ve seen it at Spec’s, yet. Hopefully I will soon. I have seen other Lips of Faith beers, so I will have to try some of those too.

, , , , , , , ,

Connect to Lushtastic

Subscribe to my RSS feed, follow me on Twitter and check out my pictures!

No comments yet.

Leave a comment